Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees was a Boise Junior College governing body that operated from 1937 to 1969. The Board was in charge of distributing funds and assuring that the school was following guidelines determined by the State Board of Education. Among the duties of the Board was to “elect teachers, fix salaries, issue certificates of graduation, approve text books, and provide equipment,” which could include buildings, school supplies, and appliances, according to Senate Bill 31.

Board Members:

Bishop F. B. Bartlett, 1937-1939
J. L. Driscoll, 1937-1938, 1939-1940, 1943-1950
Mrs. Alfred Budge, Sr., 1937-1951
J. J. Chapman, 1937-1944
Oliver O. Haga, 1937-1943
Ben. W. Oppenheim, 1937-1939
Harry L. Yost, 1937-1939
Clyde F. Potter, 1937-1961
Ralph W. York, 1938-1939
E. D. Baird, 1939-1961
H. W. Morrison, 1940-1950
Calvin H. Barrow, 1944-1946
Oscar W. Worthwine, 1946-1958
R. S. Overstreet, 1950-1954, 1955-1969
Don F. Daly, 1950-1960
Arthur H. Caine, 1952-1965
John P. Tate, 1958-1969
James D. McClary, 1960-1969
Marcel Learned, 1960-1966
Dwane R. Kern, 1961-1969
Donald M. Day, 1965-1969
Ralph J. Comstock, Jr., 1966-1969
Dr. Eugene B. Chaffee, 1967-1969

Boise Junior College Catalogs
University Archives, RG 1.2

Written by Rachel Taylor, Summer 2019 intern

This entry was posted in Encyclopedia, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.