Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu


Langroise House

The Langroise House is a nearly six-thousand square foot house located in the Warm Springs Historic District. Gladys and William Langroise donated it to Boise State on the condition that it would be used as a home by the President … (Read More) Langroise House

President John Barnes, 1967-1977

Dr. John B. Barnes was Boise State’s third president from 1967 to 1977. Barnes received a Bachelors of Arts in 1949 and a Masters of Art in Speech and Education in 1950 from the University of Denver. In 1955 he … (Read More) President John Barnes, 1967-1977

President Charles P. Ruch (1993-2003)

Charles Ruch (pronounced “rook”) became Boise State’s fifth president after the State Board of Education dismissed President John Keiser in September 1991. Ruch received a Bachelor’s in Chemistry from the College of Wooster (1959), a Master’s in Education from Northwestern … (Read More) President Charles P. Ruch (1993-2003)


Presidents 2019- Marlene Tromp 2003-2018 Robert Kustra 1993-2003 Charles Ruch 1979-1991 John Keiser 1967-1978 John Barnes 1936-1967 Eugene Chaffee 1932-1934 Middleton Barnwell Acting/Interim Presidents 2018-2019 Martin Schimpf (Interim) 1991-1993 Larry Selland (Interim) 1978-1979 Richard Bullington (Interim) 1967 W.L. Gottenberg (Acting) … (Read More) Presidents

The President’s Award for Western Life and Letters

President John Keiser created the President’s Award for Western Life and Letters recognized people for their efforts and work focusing on the relationship between man and nature in American Life.  Recipients: Elmer M. Keith, November 4, 1978 Keith was the … (Read More) The President’s Award for Western Life and Letters

President Middleton S. Barnwell (1932-1934)

Bishop Middleton S. Barnwell was the first president of Boise Junior College (1932-1934). Born on September 9, 1882 in Louisville, Kentucky, he received an associate’s degree from Centre College in Danville, Kentucky, and a Bachelor’s in Divinity and later an … (Read More) President Middleton S. Barnwell (1932-1934)

President John Keiser (1978-1991)

Dr. John Keiser was Boise State’s fourth president from 1978 to 1991. Keiser majored in Social Science with a minor in French at Eastern Illinois University, and earned his Master’s degree and Ph.D. in history at Northwestern University. He served as … (Read More) President John Keiser (1978-1991)

President Robert W. Kustra (2003-2018)

Dr. Robert Walter Kustra was the sixth president of Boise State University (2003-2018). Kustra earned degrees from Benedictine College and Southern Illinois University, and a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He held faculty positions at Northwestern … (Read More) President Robert W. Kustra (2003-2018)